Procrastination

I’ve been actively avoiding working on my novel for the past few days. I’m calling it writers block, but really it’s more akin to laziness. Rather than work on the book, I piddle around in front of keyboard, stare blankly at my laptop screen or open several of my older stories and read those. Then I might make a few corrections or changes to one of those pieces, and afterwards flip around the internet for a few under the pretense of looking or online publications.

Although there is some doubt as to the direction in which the book’s story is heading, which is giving me pause, I think I have some good ideas for future pages and really just need to get working again. I’ve committed myself to 500 words a day, which would be easy if I just sat and did it during my free time, like now. Instead, I think I’ll just click around on my own blog for a while, or reread what I just wrote.

Leave a Reply

