Strange Beasts

Let me talk a little about my book.

I’ve always been a huge fan of giant monster movies — men in rubbery suits smashing around scale model sets and knocking over cardboard buildings. I love that stuff. Monsters of all sizes have always had a place in my life, a passion I garnered from a father who, thankfully, never grew out of the “I’m 12 years old” phase of life. I owe him much more than just my genes, I’m sorry to admit.

Anyway, when I realized that I was rapidly approaching 30 and still didn’t have a failed novel under my belt, I set to work. I knew I wanted to write something about giant monsters, or “kaiju” as they’re called in their native Japan. There simply isn’t enough giant monster literature in the world. With that in mind, I thought, through my work, I might attempt to pay homage to those movies I grew up watching and still love to this day. I’ve written a little more than 30,000 words so far on what I’m calling Strange Beasts in a Small Town, and those who are familiar with kaiju films should notice little tips of the hat to some of the more classic tropes of these movies.

Of course, it’s not all homage. I’m trying my best to develop a world that’s both humorous and fantastical yet at least somewhat believable … you know, if giant monsters could exist and all. I’m also trying to write in a style reminiscent of southern storytelling, a rambling style not unlike a guy just talking about these monsters and the people around them as if they were commonplace since, in this world, they are. Though the style and subject matter may seem like a strange combination, I’m hoping they work together well. We’ll see.

I’ll try to keep the site updated with little bits and pieces about the characters and whatnot as I go along. It’s pretty tough going, and once I’m finished with the initial draft it’ll required hours and hours worth of editing to make it decent. But, I’m working on it. Wish me luck.

One thought on “Strange Beasts

  1. Pingback: Taisokage and the MADS « Adam, Try to Write.

Leave a Reply

