High Speed Dirt

It’s been quite a while since I’ve updated, and even longer since I’ve discussed the status of The Novel. Let’s fix that right now, shall we?

Just killed a major character, which was surprisingly cathartic. The way I figure it, I must be full of the ole bloodlust.

I’m rapidly approaching the end, with only one major section left to go and an outline leading me to the conclusion of it all. Normally, I’m not an “outliner,” but as the page-count kept crawling upward I began to question where exactly it was I was going. Since the beginning, I’ve always had a clear picture of how I wanted this whole thing to wrap up, but along the way I started to question my vision and become encumbered by the weight of it all. Now, I’m back on track and extremely excited at the prospect of having actually finished a project for once in my life. I’ve never been one for ambition.

I’m going for something like T.R. Pearson meets Ishiro Honda. As always, fingers crossed.

Let’s look at some figures a la Joe Bob Briggs:

1.) 107,126 words (about twice as long as I originally intended…and still going)

2.) 361 pages

3.) 4 dead humans

4.) 1 dead monster

5.) 0 exposed breasts

6.) 0 exposed penises

7.) 2 exposed nipples

8.) innumerable uses of obscenity.

Man, when you break it down like that, it really doesn’t seem like something Pearson would write, does it? Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

