Ladies and Gentlemen: The mistakes have been fixed!

Here’s an amazing thing about writing: No matter how many times you proof something you’ve written — read over it again and again and again checking for any small grammatical snafus or typos or plain ole misspellings — there are always mistakes hiding in there, lurking between words, waiting for your eyes to pass so they can hop back onto the page. It’s infuriating.

So, I recently received my proof copy of the paperback version of Strange Beasts in a Small Town, which gave me the “pleasure” of reading the darn thing for the sixth time. Guess what: TYPOS! So awesome it makes me want to vomit. I’ve fixed all the ones I could find, plus pulled a George Lucas and made some small cuts and changes to stuff I decided I didn’t like anymore (mostly cuts; the novel can be pretty long-winded.)

For those who have already purchased an ebook copy, I’ve updated the ebook copies at both Amazon and Barnes & Noble. If you haven’t had time to read it yet, be sure to redownload the book for the latest version (Version 8.0, by my count). Or, if you have read it but found the mistakes almost unbearable so you immediately deleted it from your reading device in total disgust, feel free to re-add it to your collection. It’s much more presentable now. It won’t embarrass you in front of your friends.

For those who haven’t purchased a copy, I don’t blame you. Still, this is the time to go for it…well, until I am forced to re-read it again for one reason or another and make more changes. Then, that’ll be the time to go for it.

Oh, and the paperback version’s coming very, very soon folks. Thanks to all the help from my family, it looks fantastic. The words inside may be shitty, but at least it’ll look good sitting on a shelf. And that’s what really matters, right? Appearances.

Seriously, thanks for all the support, everybody. You guys have made writing a novel about emotionally unstable giant monsters and emotionally unstable small town residents feel like the best thing I’ve ever done. You rock.

Good thing my thumb was last to fall into this pit of molten metal.

Good thing my thumb was last to fall into this pit of molten metal.

 

Leave a Reply

